State Health Council

The State Health Council serves as the North Dakota Department of Health's governing and advisory body. The council's 11 members are appointed by the governor for three-year terms. Four members are appointed from the health-care provider community, five from the public sector, one from the energy industry and one from the manufacturing and process industry.

To better inform consumers and help them make quality health care decisions, the SHC has created a Long-term Care Fact Sheet. The content was contributed by experts working with the public and long-term care facilities and is intended to help consumers determine the best type of facility for their needs.

The State Health Council's duties include monitoring overall health-care costs and quality of health-care in North Dakota. The council establishes standards, rules and regulations which are found necessary for the maintenance of public health. They provide for the development, establishment and enforcement of basic standards for hospitals and related medical institutions which render medical and nursing care, and for the construction and maintenance of such institutions. These standards cover matters pertaining to sanitation, building construction, fire protection measures, nursing procedures and preservation of medical records. The council also holds hearings on all matters brought before it by applicants and licensees of medical hospitals.


  • Genny Dienstmann (Consumer)

Vice Chair

  • Duane Pool (Consumer)


  • Leona Koch (Consumer)


  • Greg Allen (Manufacturing and Processing)
  • Howard C. Anderson, R.Ph. (Health Care)
  • Darrold Bertsch (Consumer) 
  • Mike Fedorchak (Consumer)
  • Mike Holmes (Energy)
  • Wade Peterson (Health Care)  
  • Kristin Roers (Health Care) 
  • Dennis E. Wolf, M.D. (Health Care) 

Messages or questions for any member of the State Health Council can be sent to Please indicate in your e-mail which Health Council member the message is for.