Dentists Loan Repayment Program
The State of North Dakota has established a loan repayment program for dentists who shall provide dental services in the cities or surrounding areas, or both, which the State Health Council identifies as having a defined need for dental services.
Who is Eligible?
Dentists selected from this pool of applicants may include dentists who provide dental services in:
Where Providers Serve:
Providers must serve in areas of the state with a defined need for such services.
Dentist must practice full-time (40 hours/week) for up to five years.
Providers can enter into an agreement up to five years for a total award of $100,000.
The State Health Council will not provide any loan repayment funds to a dentist until the dentist has practiced at least six months on a full-time basis in the city or surrounding areas, or both, the State Health Council has identified as having a defined need for dental services. Loan repayment funds for a year of obligated services are payable by the State Health Council no later than the end of the fiscal year in which the dentist completes the year of obligated service.
Complete applications are due by March 15th. Once
received, reviewed and verified, applications will be forwarded to
the State Health Council for consideration at the April or May
Once received, reviewed and verified, applications will be forwarded to the State Health Council for consideration at the April or May meeting.
Breach of Loan Repayment Contract:
If a dentist who receives loan repayment funds breaches the loan repayment contract by failing to begin or failing to complete the obligated services, the dentist is liable for the total amount of any loan repayment funds received. Any damages the state is entitled to recover must be paid to the State Health Council, within one year from the date of the breach. Any amounts not paid within one year from the date of breach are subject to the collection process and may be recovered through deductions in Medicaid payments. Damages recoverable for a breach of the contract include all interest, costs, and expenses incurred in collection, including attorney's fees. The State Health Council may agree to accept a lesser nature of damages for breach of a loan repayment program contract if compelling reasons are demonstrated.
Release from Contract Obligation:
The State Health Council shall release a dentist from the dentist's loan repayment contract, without penalty, if:
A decision by the State Health Council not to release a dentist from the dentist's loan repayment contract without penalty is reviewable by district court.
Provider Selection Criteria:
The Health Council will take into consideration when selecting qualified dentists and in identifying cities or surrounding area, or both, that have a defined need for dental services, the following:
For the purposes of a dentist selected for loan repayment who practices within fifteen miles of the city limits of one of the three largest cities (Bismarck, Fargo, Grand Forks) in the state, to qualify to receive a yearly disbursement, the dentist must have:
The Health Council may consult with public and private sector entities in establishing criteria and evaluating needs based on criteria.
North Dakota Dental Loan Repayment Policy and Procedure Manual
Please contact Bobbie Will for additional information and submission
of completed applications:
Bobbie Will, Director
North Dakota Primary Care Office
Office of Public Health Systems and Performance
600 E Boulevard Ave., Dept 301
Bismarck, ND 58505
office: 701-328-4908 or fax: 701-328-4727